Vintage:
Sauvignon Blanc Reserve 2017
Our Sauvignon Blanc grows in the north-western part of the Steinhaus vineyard. The soil mainly consists of mica shist and quartz, traversed by gneiss and dark amphibolites. The small vineyard is located at about 350 m above sea level, one of the coolest spots of the Kamptal. Here the variety shows a particularly juicy fruit-character that dominates the wine. Before bottling, our Reserve spends at least two winters on the lees.
If you are interested to buy this wine, please contact us or our trading partners: Where to buy.
This product is currently sold out.
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand in mid-September. Destemmed. Without sulphurisation of the grape must or juice. Short maceration. Fermentation in stainless-steel tanks with cultured local yeast. Matured partially in stainless-steel tanks and partially in barrique on the lees for 15 months. Bottled unfiltered in January 2019.
Wine description
In the nose a dash of blackcurrants, ripe gooseberries and some grilled peppers, delicate smokiness from the barrique; with elegance it spreads on the palate, complex fruit, juicy, mango, a lot of cassis and dark spices, a hint of green pepper, the oak is present in the background, kind of salty, delicate and long finish.
Alcohol
13,5 % vol.
Ageing potential
12 years +
best to drink from 2020
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C

Jahrgang:
Sauvignon Blanc Reserve 2017
Unser Sauvignon Blanc wächst im nord-westlichsten Teil der Lage Steinhaus. Den Untergrund bilden hier vor allem Glimmerschiefer und Quarz, die stellenweise von Gneis und dunklen Amphiboliten durchzogen sind. Die kleine Anlage liegt auf rund 350 m Seehöhe, an einer der kühlsten Stellen des Kamptals. Hier zeigt die Sorte ihre saftige Frucht, die den Wein neben zarter Rauchigkeit dominiert. Unsere Reserve reift mindestens über zwei Winter auf der Feinhefe, ehe sie gefüllt wird.
Dieses Produkt ist leider ausverkauft.
Vinifikation
Mitte September selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt. Keine Maische- bzw. Mostschwefelung. Kurze Mazeration. Gärung im Stahltank, mit kultivierter Hefe aus dem Kamptal. 15 Monate im Stahltank und im kleinen Eichenfass auf der Feinhefe gereift. Unfiltriert gefüllt im Jänner 2019.
Weinbeschreibung
In der Nase ein Schwung schwarze Johannisbeeren, reife Stachelbeeren und etwas gegrillter Paprika, zart rauchige Barrique-Noten; tolle Strahlkraft, komplexe Frucht, saftig, Mango, viel Cassis und Dunkelwürzigkeit, ein Hauch grüner Pfeffer, das Holz schwingt im Hintergrund mit, von gewisser Salzigkeit geprägt, feingliedrig und lange präsent.
Alkoholgehalt
13,5 % vol.
Reifepotential
12 Jahre +
optimale Trinkreife ab 2020
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C