Vintage:
Riesling Ried Heiligenstein 2018
It is one of the most famed and best crus in Austria. The Heiligenstein vineyard is a unique geological formation within Europe; a geological island. The old vines grow on a complex sedimentary soil structure, on sandstone conglomerate with red arkoses and volcanic quartz porphyries. The narrow terraces yield a highly complex Riesling with strong personality.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand in early October. Destemmed and crushed. Short maceration. Gently pressed off with low pressure. Without sulphurisation of the juice. Fermented instainless-steel with cultured Kamptal yeast. Matured for several months on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2019.
Wine description
Dark minerality and inviting scent of fruits in the nose, yuzu, juniper, some mirabelle, black tea, the unmistakable curry-scent lurks silently in the corner; wonderful structure on the palate, juicy center piece, kumquat, elegant fruit burst that gains tension with its well integrated acidity, in the background the notorious fine spice of Heiligenstein, deep and long echo.
Alcohol
13,0 % vol.
Ageing potential
10 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 10°C
Ratings
18

Jahrgang:
Riesling Ried Heiligenstein 2018
Er zählt zu den bekanntesten und besten Lagen Österreichs. Der Heiligenstein ist eine einzigartige geologische Formation innerhalb Europas; eine geologische Insel. Die alten Reben wurzeln hier auf einem Sedimentkomplex aus Sandsteinkonglomerat mit Einschlüssen roter Arkosen und vulkanischer Quarzporphyre. Auf den schmalen Terassen wächst ein hochkomplexer Riesling mit starker Persönlichkeit und feinwürzigem Ausdruck.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Anfang Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt. Keine Maische- bzw. Mostschwefelung. Gärung im Stahltank, mit kultivierter Hefe aus dem Kamptal. Mehrmonatige Reife auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im August 2019, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Dunkle Mineralität und einladende Fruchtfülle in der Nase, Yuzu, Wacholder, etwas Mirabellen, Schwarztee; wunderbare Struktur am Gaumen, saftiges Mittelstück, Kumquat, eleganter Fruchtschub bei präsenter Säurespannung, im Hintergrund die berüchtigte feine Würze des Heiligenstein, tiefes und langes Echo.
Alkoholgehalt
13,0 % vol.
Reifepotential
10 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca.10°C