Vintage:
Riesling Ried Gaisberg 2018
With its milder microclimate, the exposed Gaisberg is one of the historically most important Riesling vineyards in the Kamptal. A vast variety of metamorphic and crystalline rocks form its soils. On two terraces, our vines dig their roots into Paragneiss. Occasionally there are islands of granite and marble, with shallow covers of loess at the foot of the hill. The concentrated Rieslings of this slope are characterized by their expressive fruit and warm minerality.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand in early October. Destemmed and crushed. Short maceration. Gently pressed off with low pressure. Without sulphurisation of the juice. Fermented instainless-steel with cultured Kamptal yeast. Matured for several months on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2019.
Wine description
Pure Gaisberg-minerality in the nose, orange blossom, nuances of blood orange and apricot, lemongrass; very elegant on the palate, concentrated and silky with a firm acidity that adds a lot of fruity tension, contured, cool fruit, tangerines, long-lasting finish.
Alcohol
13 % vol.
Ageing potential
10 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, ca. 10°C
Ratings
18

Jahrgang:
Riesling Ried Gaisberg 2018
Mit seinem milderen Mikroklima, zählt der exponierte Gaisberg zu den historisch bedeutendsten Riesling-Lagen im Kamptal. Er weißt eine spannende Vielfalt metamorpher unf kristalliner Gesteine auf. Auf zwei Terrassen schlagen unsere Reben ihre Wurzeln in einen felsigen Untergrund aus Paragneis. Vereinzelt finden sich Granite, Marmor und, am Hagfuß, auch schmale Lössüberwehungen. Es sind konzentrierte Rieslinge mit expressivem Fruchtausdruck und warmer Mineralik, die auf dem Hang heranreifen.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Anfang Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt und gequetscht. Kurze Maischestandzeit. Sanfte Pressung mit geringem Druck. Keine Mostschwefelung. Gärung im Stahltank, mit kultivierter Hefe aus dem Kamptal. Mehrmonatige Reife auf der Feinhefe. Abfüllung im August 2019, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Pure Gaisberg-Mineralik in der Nase, Orangenblüten, zart nach Blutorange und Marille, Zitronengras; am Gaumen elegant, konzentriert und seidig bei viel Fruchtpikanz, feinstrahlig, kühle Frucht, Mandarinen, lang anhaltender Nachhall.
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol.
Reifepotential
10 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 10°C
Bewertungen
18