Vintage:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Thal 2018
Thal has a special value to us. It is inextricably linked to the history of our estate. It is our oldest and most traditional vineyard, where our family cultivated their first vines in 1856. The up to 80-year-old vines grow on a broadly terraced slope in the south of Langenlois, composed of sand and calcerous loess. With delicate white and yellow fruit, cool spice and it's characteristic sandy minerality, the wine expresses the bright side of Gruener Veltliner.
[Ried = Austrian term for a single vineyard, it has the same meaning as "Lage"]
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand throughout the second half of September. Destemmed. Without sulphurisation of the juice. Fermented in stainless-steel tanks, with cultured Kamptal yeast. Partial malolactic fermentation. Matured for several months on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in May 2019.
Wine description
Entrée of yellow apples, pears, white pepper, backed by nuances of citrus fruits; ripe acidity, mango, spicy tobacco; firm body, clearly contured, fine and subtle extract-sweetness, very inviting. - Vinaria 2019/20
Alcohol
13 % vol.
Ageing potential
10 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C
Ratings
93
92

Jahrgang:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Thal 2018
Jahrgang 2017 ebenfalls verfügbar.
Thal ist eine Lage von besonderer Bedeutung. Sie ist untrennbar mit der Geschichte des Weinguts verbunden, denn hier kultivierte unsere Familie 1856 ihre ersten Weingärten. Diese Geländekante, mit ihren mächtigen Lössterrassen, wölbt sich südlich von Langenlois auf. Bis zu 80 Jahre alten Reben wachsen hier auf sandigem, kalkreichem Löss, geschichtet über Kies und rotem Sand (aus den Heißzeiten). Weiße Früchte und zarte Veltlinerwürze kommen in diesem Wein zum Ausdruck, hinterlegt mit charakteristischer sandiger Mineralik.
[Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
In der zweiten September-Hälfte selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt. Keine Mostschwefelung. Gärung im Stahltank, mit kultivierter Hefe aus dem Kamptal. Teilweise spontaner biologischer Säureabbau. Mehrmonatige Reife auf der Feinhefe. Abgefüllt im Mai 2019, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Von Beginn an gelbe Äpfel, Birnen, weißer Pfeffer, untermalt von feinen Zitrusnoten; reife Säure, Mango, heller Würztabak; mittelkräftig, kompakt, klar konturiert, mit feiner Extraktsüße; sehr ansprechend. - Vinaria 2019/20
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol.
Reifepotential
10 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C
Bewertungen
93
92