Vintage:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Schenkenbichl 2018
→ Vintage 2017 also available
The grapes of this Veltliner come from the highest lying terraces of the Schenkenbichl vineyard, grown at about 315 m above sea level. Here, our 60-year-old vines are rooted deep in the brittle, metamorphic rock soil, which is formed of the remains of an ancient mountain range. It predominantly consists of dark amphibolite, reaching to the surface. The influence of those rocks is reflected in the wines, which are cool and elegant with a spicy-mineral saltiness to them.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand during the end of September. Destemmed and crushed. Short maceration. Gently pressed off with low pressure. Without sulphurisation of the juice. Fermented in acacia casks with cultured Kamptal yeast. Matured for several months in cask on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2019.
Wine description
Dark, smoky nose, spicy entrée, followed by cool, mineral accents and ravishing aromas of fine tobacco and mediterrenean herbs, again and again bright citrus fruit flashes on; On the palate fruit and spice are intertwined, oregano, grapefruit, apples, fir trees, salty-crystalline minerality, the acid-backbone lends drive, beautiful finesse.
Alcohol
13,5 % vol.
Ageing potential
13 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C
Ratings
17
93
93

Jahrgang:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Schenkenbichl 2018
→ Jahrgang 2017 ebenfalls verfügbar
Die Trauben dieses Veltliners stammen von den höchst gelegenen Terrassen der Lage Schenkenbichl, gewachsen auf rund 315 m Seehöhe. Es sind 60 Jahre alte Rebstöcke, die hier tief im kristallinen Gesteinspaket wurzeln. Die Lage ist Teil der Überreste eines uralten Gebirges, an dessen Stelle die dunklen Amphibolite bis an die Oberfläche treten. Im Wein zeigt sich deutlich der Einfluss des kargen Urgestein-Bodens. Er lässt kühle, elegante Weine mit würzig-mineralischer Salzigkeit heranreifen.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Ende September selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt und gequetscht. Kurze Maischestandzeit. Sanfte Pressung mit geringem Druck. Keine Mostschwefelung. Gärung im großen Akazienfass, mit kultivierter Hefe aus dem Kamptal. Mehrmonatige Reife im Fass auf der Feinhefe. Abfüllung im August 2019, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Dunkle, rauchige Nase, würziges Entrée, gefolgt von kühlen, mineralischen Akzenten und einem hinreißenden Aromengeflecht aus feinstem Tabak und mediterranen Kräutern, immer wieder blitzt helle Citrusfrucht auf; am Gaumen sind Frucht und Würze ineinander verwoben, Oregano, Grapefruit, Zitronenäpfel, Nadelwald, salzig-kristalline Mineralik, das Säurerückgrat sorgt für Zug, betonte Finesse.
Alkoholgehalt
13,5 % vol.
Reifepotential
13 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C
Bewertungen
17