Vintage:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Schenkenbichl 2017
This Veltliner is sourced from two terraces at the upper limit of the Schenkenbichl vineyard on about 315 m above sea level. The old vines grow on metamorphic rocks, predominantely dark amphibolite, overlain by gneiss. This becomes noticable in the wine in form of a distinct spicy and mineral character.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand in mid-October. Destemmed. Without sulphurisation of the grape must or juice. Fermented in acacia casks with cultivated local yeast. Partial spontaneous malolactic fermentation. Matured for several months in cask on the lees. Bottled in August 2018.
Wine description
Seductive bouquet, musk melons, stonefruits, hazelnuts, backed by subtle notes of chokeberries and some Havannas; silky and smooth flow, vigorous socket, at the same time finely contured, concentrated fruit, packed with a lot of elegance and a long lasting finish. - Vinaria 2018/19
Alcohol
13,5 % vol.
Ageing potential
13 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C
Ratings
94
94
92
93

Jahrgang:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Schenkenbichl 2017
Die Trauben dieses Veltliners stammen vom höchsten Punkt der Lage Schenkenbichl, gewachsen auf zwei Terassen auf rund 315 m  Seehöhe. 60 Jahre alte Reben wurzeln hier auf einem metamorphen Gesteinspaket aus dunklem Amphibolit. Im Wein zeigt sich der Einfluss der Lage durch fein geschliffene Mineralität und markante Würze.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Mitte Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt. Keine Maische- bzw. Mostschwefelung. Gärung im großen Akazienfass mit kultivierter Kamptaler Hefe. Teilweise spontaner biologischer Säureabbau. Mehrmonatige Reifung im Fass auf der Feinhefe. Abfüllung im August 2018.
Weinbeschreibung
Attraktive Nase, Zuckermelonen, Kernobst, Haselnüsse, untersetzt von feinherben Tönen nach Havannas und Aroniabeeren; cremig-geschmeidiger Trinkfluss, kraftvoller Sockel, zugleich fein gemeißelt, mit fokussierter Frucht, viel Eleganz und langem Ausklang. - Vinaria 2018/19
Alkoholgehalt
13,5 % vol.
Reifepotential
13 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 10°C
Bewertungen
94
94
92