Vintage:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Kittmannsberg 2018
Kittmannsberg is part of a distinctive plateau, which rises in the west of Langenlois and reaches up to 345 m above sea level. It has a characteristic bowl-shaped topographic depression in which an autonomous microclimate is formed, favouring long ripening periods and thus a late harvest. Here we find traces of a past, shallow sea. The mineral-rich soil is formed of calcerous clays, loess and loam. The cru lends this Veltliner an expression of yellow fruits, a delicate herbal spiciness and a silky-mineral texture.
[1.ÖTW = Classified Vineyard, Erste Lage (Premier Cru)] [Ried = Austrian Term for single vineyard, same meaning as “Lage”]
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand during the end of September. Destemmed and crushed. Short maceration. Gently pressed off with low pressure. Without sulphurisation of the juice. Fermented in acacia casks with cultured Kamptal yeast. Partial spontaneous malolactic fermentation. Matured for several months in cask on the lees. Bottled at high atmospheric pressure during the waxing moon in August 2019.
Wine description
Yellow fruit, ripe pineapple, honeydew melon, some pomegranate, all backed by a beautiful pink pepper spice; ripe and fleshy fruit on the palate, very juicy and full-bodied, lots of pome fruit, clayey-loessy spiciness, elegant charm with clear contours, echoing with umami notes.
Alcohol
13,5 % vol.
Ageing potential
13 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C
Ratings
18

Jahrgang:
Grüner Veltliner Ried Kittmannsberg 2018
Der Kittmannsberg ist Teil eines markanten Hochplateaus, das sich im Westen von Langenlois erhebt und bis auf 345 m Seehöhe reicht. In seiner charakteristischen, kesselförmigen Einbuchtung, bildet sich ein eigenständiges Mikroklima, das lange Reifeperioden und damit eine späte Ernte begünstigt. Hier finden sich die Spuren eines vergangenen, flachen Meeres. Der tiefgründige Boden ist aus kalkigen Tonen und Lösslehm aufgebaut. Die Lage prägt den Veltliner, der hier einen gelben Fruchtausdruck, zarte Kräuterwürze und eine seidig-mineralische Textur entwickelt.
[1.ÖTW = Klassifizierte Lage, Erste Lage] [Ried = Lage (Österr.)]
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Ende September selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt und gequetscht. Kurze Maischestandzeit. Sanfte Pressung mit geringem Druck. Keine Mostschwefelung. Gärung im großen Akazienfass, mit kultivierter Hefe aus dem Kamptal. Teilweise spontaner biologischer Säureabbau. Mehrmonatige Reife im Fass auf der Feinhefe. Abfüllung im August 2019, bei hohem Atmosphärendruck und der zunehmenden Mondphase.
Weinbeschreibung
Gelbfruchtiger Auftakt, reife Ananas, Honigmelone, etwas Granatapfel, alles unterlegt mit einer schönen rosa Pfefferwürze; am Gaumen saftig und füllig, reife & fleischige Fruchtaromatik, Kernobst, tonig-lössige Würze, eleganter Trinkcharme mit klaren Konturen, feine Umami-Noten klingen nach.
Alkoholgehalt
13,5 % vol.
Reifepotential
13 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C
Bewertungen
18