Vintage:
Chardonnay Toasted & Unfiltered 2016
Some great wines are sourced from the chalky loess soils of the Kamptal. The basin-shaped topographic depression in 'Kittmannsberg', as well as the terraces in the 'Thal', are the crus for our Chardonnay grapes that allow long maturation and full flavour concentration. The wine ages for two years in small, toasted oak barrels, before it is bottled unfiltered to develop its optimum quality. Today, our 'Toasted & Unfiltered' is considered an absolute cult wine in the Austrian Chardonnay-scene.
[This wine was bottled without filtration and can therefore form sediments while aging.]
Bottles
Prices include 20% VAT , excluding shipping costs
Vinification
Selective harvest by hand in mid-October. Destemmed. Without sulphurisation of the grape must or juice. Fermentation in a hybrid cask of acacia and oak as well as in oak barriques, with cultivated yeast. Matured for several months in small, toasted oak barrels on the lees. Sur Lie. Unfiltered. Bottled in August 2018.
Wine description
Precision already in the nose, lime and pineapple, freshly cut lemon thyme, reminds of the slightly salty sea breeze, a touch of basil, mocha beans and a fine touch of oak; gripping on the palate, chalky minerality, juicy and well defined, fresh fruit and the slightly smoky oak in magnificent symbiosis, enormously multi-layered core with lively acid structure, fine burgundy with a long, salt-fruity finish (umeboshi).
Alcohol
13 % vol.
Ageing potential
18 years +
Serving temperature
Chilled, approx. 11°C

Jahrgang:
Chardonnay Toasted & Unfiltered 2016
In den kalkreichen Lösslagen des Kamptals gedeihen erstklassige Burgunder. Im Kessel der Lage Kittmannsberg, sowie auf den Terrassen im Thal stehen unsere Reben, in denen die Chardonnay Trauben bis zum Erreichen ihrer optimalen Geschmackskonzentration heranreifen. Nach der Gärum im großen Fass reift zwei Jahre im kleinen, getoasteten Eichenholz, ehe er unfiltriert in die Flasche kommt, um so seine optimale Qualität entwickeln zu können. Ein Kultweinen der österreichischen Chardonnay-Szene.
[Dieser Wein wurde unfiltriert gefüllt und kann daher während seiner Reifung ein natürliches Depot bilden.]
Flaschen
Alle Preise inkl. 20% MwSt, zzgl. Versand
Vinifikation
Mitte Oktober selektiv von Hand gelesen. Gerebelt. Keine Maische- bzw. Mostschwefelung. Vergoren im Hybridfass aus Eiche und Akazie sowie in kleinen Eichen-Barriques, mit kultivierter Hefe. Mehrmonatige Reifung im kleinen, getoasteten Eichenfass auf der Feinhefe. Sur Lie. Unfiltriert. Abgefüllt im August 2018.
Weinbeschreibung
Präzision schon im Entreé, Limone und Ananas, frisch geschnittener Zitronenthymian, eine leicht salzige Meeresbrise strömt aus dem Glas, ein Hauch Basilikum, helle Mokkabohnen und feinste Holzwürze; am Gaumen zupackend, kreidige Mineralik, saftig und definiert, frische Frucht und zart rauchiges Holz in stimmiger Symbiose, enorm vielschichtige Mitte mit pikantem Säurebett, feinschliffiger Burgunder mit langem, leicht salzfruchtigem Ausklang (Umeboshi).
Alkoholgehalt
13 % vol.
Reifepotential
18 Jahre +
Serviertemperatur
Gekühlt, ca. 11°C