Where our wine grows.

Pioneering Austrias Vineyard-Classification.

We know our vineyards. They inspire us. We are enthusiastic about their peculiarities. There is an age-old wisdom amongst vintners that there are vineyards which, when carefully tended each year, consistently yield exceptional wines. For over 1000 years the knowledge about those special plots of land has been passed on from generation to generation. The vineyard classification is the logical consequence of our centuries old wine-history and our inner urge to explore and research. Together with six renowned wineries of the region we are proud founders of the Association ‘Österreichische Traditionsweingüter’ (Traditional Austrian Wineries), established in 1992, with the purpose of classifying those outstanding vineyard sites of the Danube region. It was Austria’s first vineyard classification project and noticeably changes it’s wine industry. For over 25 years the members, today counting 36 estates, have been working on it. Work in progress...

Find out more: www.traditionsweingueter.at

Thal

The historical Thal vineyard has a special meaning to us. A few parcels have been owned by our family since the beginning of the winery's history. Here, Josef and Anna Hiedler cultivated one their first vineyards in 1856. This gently sloping hillside, in the south of Langenlois, is formed from a powerful rise of loess that is marked throughout by large terraces. The vines grow on a sandy and very chalky loess soil. Characteristic are the underlying red sands (from the earth's hot periods) and gravels, which cut through the loess cover layer by layer. It is also here, where Ludwig I. planted one of the first Grüner Veltliner vineyards in Kamptal in 1936. The almost 80-year-old vines date back to a time when yield was not the prime concern of wine producers: middle-sized fruit, rather loose-berried, with a very 'down-to-earth' taste. Those values are still important for us when we select our vine material.

More facts

Vine age 15-80 years
Altitude 230-270 m
Gradient
Orientation S-SSW
Total size 30,9 ha (entire site)
Village Langenlois
Coordinates 48°27'45.0"N 15°40'19.7"E
Classification -
Kittmannsberg

Kittmannsberg is one of the highest elevated vineyard sites in the Kamptal, located just west of Langenlois. It's first mention can be traced back to the year 1353 under the name 'Chotmannsperig', probably named after the original owner of the vineyard. It is shaped like a wide bowl and opens towards the southeast into the Langenlois basin. It reaches about 345 m above sea level at its highest point, 280 m at its lowest point. The characteristic basin-shaped topographic depression is responsible for its autonomous microclimate and, especially in the higher lying terraces, enables extended ripening periods. Here our vines stand on fine-grained loam soils with a high content of clay. It can be quite chalky in some places.

More facts

Vine age 30-50 years
Altitude 280-345 m
Gradient
Orientation SO-OSO
Total size 74 ha (entire site)
Village Langenlois
Coordinates 48°28'18.2"N 15°38'46.9"E
Classification Erste Lage
 
Schenkenbichl

Schenkenbichl is facing Langenlois and covers the north of the town. The name first appeared in 1402 and has remained unchanged ever since. Its origin is believed in an old tavern (Schenke) at the foot of the hill (Bühel) in Langenlois. The slope is characterized by small and somewhat larger terraces which in our case, are located at the highest point at around 315 m above sea level. Here our Veltliner grows on metamorphic rock, mostly dark amphibolite. The amphibolite bedrock is overlain by a cambisol formed from mica-rich silicates. Towards the lower end, reaching the town of Langenlois, more and more loess, interspersed with many rocks, can be found. The bottom of the slope is home to the oldest Weissburgunder (Pinot Blanc) of the Danube area planted by Dr. Bruno Hiedler in 1955. Here we find the geological remains of the old Loisbachtal (Lois Creek Valley). The gnarly vines root on gravel with calcareous loess running through it.

More facts

Vine age 20-60 years
Altitude 230-315 m
Gradient
Orientation SSO
Total size 34,2 ha (entire site)
Village Langenlois
Coordinates 48°28'55.0"N 15°39'53.0"E
Classification Erste Lage
Steinhaus

The steepest of Kamptal's slopes was already well known in 1394 as 'Stainhaws'. This name was most likely derived from the small stone cottages which served as shelters and whose remains are still scattered along the vineyards today. The slope is characterized by small and partly narrow terraces. Gneisses and dark amphibolites, interspersed with quartz and feldspar veins, form the base for the vines. Due to the steepness the humic topsoil is only a few centimeters thin. As the rugged, dark ground heats up in the sun, there is a warm-cold contrast between ground and air temperatures, especially in the early hours of the night. A microclimate that, in combination with the meager rocksoil, creates great tension in the Rieslings.

More facts

Vine age 20-45 years
Altitude 230-300 m
Gradient 20°
Orientation S
Overall size 24,1 ha
Village Langenlois
Coordinates 48°28'56.0"N 15°39'40.0"E
Classification Erste Lage
Gaisberg

With its milder microclimate, the Gaisberg is one of the historically most relevant vineyards in the Kamptal. This is where the Pannonian air current arrives first. A first written record of the site can be found as early as 1341 under the name 'Gaizperch'. Most likely the terraced slope was originally grazed by goats (Geissen). The vineyard extends up to 335 m above sea level, occupying a steep slope that runs down towards the Strass-valley in the east and gently declines towards the southern village of Kammern. In the highest third of Gaisberg our vines dig their roots into a rocky soil of marble and paragneiss. Granites and amphibolite lenses can also be found in some places. Another, smaller plot is located on the southern foot of tge slope, where one encounters calcareous Chernozem from loess over gravel and crystalline debris.

More facts

Vine age 30 years
Altitude 215-335 m
Gradient 11°
Orientation S-SW
Overall size 58,8 ha
Villages Strass, Kammern, Zöbing
Coordinates 48°28'35.0"N 15°43'24.5"E
Classification Erste Lage
Kogelberg

It is the northernmost as “Erste Lage” classified vineyard in Kamptal (and in Austria). Kogelberg lies on a broad north-south spur of the high Waldviertel plateau and sits right at the point where the narrow valley situation of the Kamptal opens towards the Langenlois basin. The slope is cooled by cold air currents which originate from the shady and densely wooded upper reaches of the Kamp river. Due to its particular geographic location the vineyard is characterized by a noticeably cooler microclimate, marked by substantial temperature variations between day and night. The soil on which the vines root is purely crystalline and dominated by bronze-colored mica schist in which dark amphibolites can be found scattered over a large area.

More facts

Vine age 15-50 years
Altitude 230-305 m
Gradient 10°
Orientation S-SSW
Overall size 35 ha
Village Zöbing
Coordinates 48°29'36.6"N 15°41'15.2"E
Classification Erste Lage
Heiligenstein

This is one of the most famed Riesling vineyards in Austria, whose authentic wines enjoy international attention. The history of the hillside vineyard can be traced back to 1314. In 1280 we find a first written mention as Hellenstein (Hell Stone), which seems logical as it is a south facing slope on which the sun "burns like hell". According to the document of 1314 the name could also originate from the meaning "am glatten Stein" (on the smooth stone). The vernacular eventually transformed it to 'Heiligenstein' (Stone of Saints) which sounds similar in dialect. The Heiligenstein is a unique geological formation - a geological island - within Europe. The sediments, referred to as “Perm of Zöbing”, sunk into the deep some 248-290 million years ago, before it broke through the earth's crust again. The mighty layers, consisting of sandstone, brittle sedimentary rock and conglomerate, were exposed to desert climates and volcanic activity. The outcropping bedrock consists of reddish-brown sandstone with a high feldspar content, coarse conglomerates and minor siltstone. Residues of fossilized plants and boulders of volcanic quartz porphyries can be found; hundreds of elements which the vines absorb in different micro-doses.

Wissenswertes

Vine age 30-60 years
Altitude 230-345 m
Gradient 13°
Orientation SSW
Overall size 26,7 ha
Village Zöbing
Coordinates 48°28'55.7"N 15°42'28.1"E
Classification Erste Lage

Hier wächst unser Wein.

Lagenbekenntnis.

Wir kennen unsere Lagen. Ihren Eigenheiten gilt unsere besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Es ist eine alte Weisheit unter Winzern, dass es Weinberge gibt, die, bei sorgfältiger Pflege, jedes Jahr außergewöhnliche Weine hervorbringen. Seit über 1000 Jahren wird dieses Wissen um die besonderen Stückchen Land von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben. Die Lagenklassifikation ist die logische Konsequenz unserer Jahrhunderte-alten Weinbaugeschichte und unseres Forscherdrangs. Gemeinsam mit sechs weiteren Betrieben der Region sind wir stolze Gründer der 1992 ins Leben gerufenen Vereinigung 'Österreichische Traditionsweingüter'. Erklärtes Ziel ist es, die historisch besten Weinbergslagen des Donauraums zu klassifizieren. Dieses erste Klassifikationsprojekt Österreichs verändert den heimischen Weinbau merklich. Seit über 25 Jahren arbeiten die heute 62 Mitgliedsbetriebe daran. Work in Progress...

Mehr zur Klassifikation: www.traditionsweingueter.at

Thal

Diese historische Lage hat für uns einen besonderen Wert. Ein paar Parzellen im Thal befinden sich schon seit Beginn der Weingutsgeschichte in Familienhand. Hier kultivierten Josef & Anna Hiedler 1856 ihre ersten Weingärten. Im Süden von Langenlois, auf diesem sanft geneigten Hang, der in großflächigen Terrassen angelegt ist, schlagen unsere Reben ihre Wurzeln in sandigen, kalkreichen Löss. Unter der Lössdecke verbergen sich schichtenweise roter Sand (aus den Heißzeiten) und Kies. 1936 pflanzte Ludwig I. hier eine der ersten reinsortigen Grüner Veltliner Rebanlagen des Kamptals aus. Die heute 80 Jahre alten Weinstöcke gehen zurück auf eine Zeit, in der Menge noch keine große Rolle spielte: mittelgroße Trauben, eher locker-beerig, mit dem Urgeschmack des Veltliners. Werte, auf die wir uns auch heute bei der Wahl unseres Rebmaterials zurückbesinnen.

Wissenswertes

Rebalter 15-80 Jahre
Seehöhe 230-270 m
Neigung
Ausrichtung S-SSW
Gesamtfläche 30,9 ha (Lage gesamt)
Ort Langenlois
Koordinaten 48°27'45.0"N 15°40'19.7"E
Klassifikation -

Kittmannsberg

Der Kittmannsberg befindet sich auf einem markanten Hochplateau im westlichen Kamptal. 1353 fand der 'Chotmannsperig' seine erste schriftliche Erwähnung, ein Name, der wohl auf den ursprünglichen Besitzer dieses Weinberges zurückgeht. Von oben blickt man in einen weiten Kessel, der sich gegen Südosten ins Langenloiser Becken öffnet. Am höchsten Punkt erreicht er rund 345 m Seehöhe, der tiefste Punkt liegt bei 280 m. Die charakteristische, kesselförmige Einbuchtung ist auch verantwortlich für das eigenständige Mikroklima der Lage, dass besonders in den höher liegenden Terrassen längere Reifeperioden begünstigt. Unsere Reben stehen hier auf staubfeinem, tonigem Lösslehm, der mancherorts auch sehr kalkreich sein kann.

Wissenswertes

Rebalter 30-50 Jahre
Seehöhe 280-345 m
Neigung
Ausrichtung SO-OSO
Gesamtfläche 74 ha (Lage gesamt)
Ort Langenlois
Koordinaten 48°28'18.2"N 15°38'46.9"E
Klassifikation Erste Lage

Schenkenbichl

Der Schenkenbichl schützt die nördliche Flanke der Stadt Langenlois. Der Lagenname lässt sich bis ins Jahr 1402 zurück verfolgen und blieb seither unverändert. Seinen Ursprung vermutet man in einer alten Schenke am Fuße des Hügels (altd. Bühel) in Langenlois . Die luftige Hanglage ist von kleinen und größeren Terrassen geprägt, die, in unserem Fall, bis an die oberste Grenze auf rund 315 m Seehöhe reichen. Hier oben wurzelt unser Veltliner auf metamorphem Urgestein, großteils dunkler Amphibolit. Lockersediment-Braunerde aus glimmrigem Silikat-Material bildet den Oberboden. Nach unten hin flacht der Hang zunehmend ab und ist immer mehr von Löss überweht, der mit vielen Steinen durchsetzt ist. Am unteren Hangende des Schenkenbichl stehen die ältesten Weißburgunder-Reben des Donauraums, ausgepflanzt von Dr. Bruno Hiedler im Jahre 1955 (Weißburgunder Maximum). Hier finden sich überwiegend die geologischen Überreste des alten Loisbachtals. Die knorrigen Rebstöcke stehen auf schottrigem Untergrund durchzogen von kalkhaltigem Löss.

Wissenswertes

Rebalter 20-60 Jahre
Seehöhe 230-315 m
Neigung
Ausrichtung SSO
Gesamtfläche 34,2 ha (Lage gesamt)
Ort Langenlois
Koordinaten 48°28'55.0"N 15°39'53.0"E
Klassifikation Erste Lage

Steinhaus

Die steilste Langenloiser Lage war bereits 1394, als man sie noch 'Stainhaws' schrieb, bekannt für ihre Vorzüge. Der Name stammt vermutlich von den kleinen Trockensteinhäusern, die als Unterstände dienten und deren Überreste man heute verstreut in den Weingärten findet. Dieser steile Hang, abfallend in das Langenloiser Loisbachtal, ist geprägt von kleinen und teils schmalen Terrassen. Den steinigen Untergrund bilden vor allem Gneise und dunkle Amphibolite, die von Quarz und Feldspat-Adern durchzogen werden. Bedingt durch die Steilheit liegt hier ein nur wenige Zentimeter schmaler humoser Oberboden auf. Der schroffe und steinige Grund erwärmt sich in der Sonne leicht, so kommt es in den frühen Nachtstunden zu einem warm-kalt Kontrast zwischen Boden- und Lufttemperatur. Ein Mikroklima, dass in Kombination mit dem kargen Urgesteinsboden beste Voraussetzungen für spannungsgeladene Rieslinge bietet.

Wissenswertes

Rebalter 20-45 Jahre
Seehöhe 230-300 m
Neigung 20°
Ausrichtung S
Gesamte Fläche 24,1 ha (Lage gesamt)
Ort Langenlois
Koordinaten 48°28'56.0"N 15°39'40.0"E
Klassifikation Erste Lage

Gaisberg

Mit seinem etwas milderen Mikroklima zählt der Gaisberg zu den historisch bedeutendsten Weinbergen im Kamptal. Hier trifft die pannonische Wärme aus der süd-östlichen Donauebene am frühesten auf die Kamptaler Hänge. Bereits 1341 findet man die Lage unter den Namen 'Gaizperch' in den Archiven. Naheliegend ist, dass der terrassierte Weinberg ursprünglich auch von Ziegen (Geißen) beweidet wurde. Es handelt sich um eine bis auf 335 m reichende Hanglage mit steiler Ost-Flanke zum Straßertal hin und einer etwas flacheren Hauptausrichtung nach Süden zum Weinort Kammern. Hier findet man einen vielfältigen Boden, vor allem Urgestein. Im höchsten Drittel der Lage durchwurzeln unsere Reben einen felsigen Untergrund aus Paragneis. Stellenweise treten auch Marmor, Granite und Amphibolit-Linsen ans Tageslicht. Eine weitere, kleine Parzelle liegt am südlichen Hangausläufer, wo die Wurzeln überwiegend auf Löss über Kies und Kristallin-Schutt stoßen.

Wissenswertes

Rebalter 30 Jahre
Seehöhe 215-335 m
Neigung 11°
Ausrichtung S-SW
Gesamte Fläche 58,8 ha (Lage gesamt)
Orte Strass, Kammern, Zöbing
Koordinaten 48°28'35.0"N 15°43'24.5"E
Klassifikation Erste Lage

Kogelberg

Er ist der nördlichste als Erste Lage klassifizierte Weinberg des Kamptals (und Österreichs). Der Kogelberg ist ein letzter Ausläufer des Waldviertler Hochplateaus und liegt an jenem Punkt, an dem sich die enge Tal-Situation im Norden zum Langenloiser Becken hin öffnet. Hier wird der Hang von kalten Luftströmen abgekühlt, die aus dem schattigen und dicht bewaldeten Oberlauf des Kamp eindringen. Durch die besondere geographische Position, weist die Lage im Jahresmittel ein spürbar kühleres Mikroklima auf, das von vergleichsweise stärkeren Temperaturschwankungen zwischen Tag und Nacht geprägt ist. Der Gesteinsuntergrund ist rein kristallin und wird von bronze-farbenem Glimmerschiefer dominiert, in dem sich großflächig verstreut auch dunkle Amphibolite finden lassen. Eine Kombination, die den hier wachsenden Rieslingen einen frischen, nördlichen Zug verleiht.

Wissenswertes

Rebalter 15-50 Jahre
Seehöhe 230-305 m
Neigung 10°
Ausrichtung S-SSW
Gesamte Fläche 35 ha (Lage gesamt)
Ort Zöbing
Koordinaten 48°29'36.6"N 15°41'15.2"E
Klassifikation Erste Lage

Heiligenstein

Er zählt zu den bekanntesten und bedeutendsten Weinbergen in Österreich. Heute genießen die Lage und ihre charakterstarken Rieslinge internationalen Ruhm. Seine Weingeschichte lässt sich bis ins Jahr 1314 zurück verfolgen. 1280 findet man seine erste urkundliche Erwähnung unter dem Namen Hellenstein (Höllenstein). Vermutlich weil die Sonne den ganzen Tag über auf den Hang brannte und höllisch einheizte. Tatsächlich aber bedeutet „Hel“ auf mittelhochdeutsch „glänzend, licht“ (ergo: der helle Berg), die Mundart machte daraus über die Jahrzehnte dann den Heiligenstein. Besonders interessant und einzigartig ist seine Geologie. Der Heiligenstein ist eine geologische Insel innerhalb Europas. Dieser ursprünglich waagrecht liegende Sedimentkomplex, bezeichnet als Perm von Zöbing, ist in der geologischen Phase im Erdaltertum vor 248-290 Mio. Jahren in die Tiefe gesunken, ehe er hier im Kamptal wieder durch die Erdkruste brach. Die mächtigen Schichten waren Wüstenklima und Vulkanismus ausgesetzt. Die Feldspat-reichen, rotbraunen Sandsteine und die groben Konglomeratgesteine reichen bis an die Oberfläche. In dem Gesteinspaket lassen sich Reste versteinerter Pflanzen und Gerölle vulkanischer Quarzporphyre finden - hunderte Elemente die in unterschiedlichen Mikrodosen von den Reben absorbiert werden. Auf diesem Boden entstehen Weine, die sich gleichfalls durch ihre Einzigartigkeit auszeichnen.

Wissenswertes

Rebalter 30-60 Jahre
Seehöhe 230-345 m
Neigung 13°
Ausrichtung SSW
Gesamte Fläche 26,7 ha (Lage gesamt)
Ort Zöbing
Koordinaten 48°28'55.7"N 15°42'28.1"E
Klassifikation Erste Lage