Our story begins in 1856.

Josef und Anna I. Hiedler

For a long time our family ran a tannery in the center of Langenlois. The foundation of the winery was based on a lucky coincidence; over 160 years ago. When the then young entrepreneur and leather tanner Josef Hiedler married his wife Anna, she brought with her a few vineyards into the marriage. Josef soon discovered his passion for the winemakers craft, bought the first cellar on the Rosenhügel (Rose Hill) and founded the estate in 1856 with his wife. They cultivated vines in the traditional vineyard sites Thal and Spiegel and started to make wine on a small scale.

Ludwig I. and Anna II. Hiedler

The winery experienced further investments throughout the reign of the second generation. While still active in the leather trade and the tannery, Ludwig Hiedler, one of five children, extended the vineyard area with additional parcels of good Kamptal vineyard sites. With his wife, also Anna, he bought the historic cellar and Heurigen (wine tavern) at the southern slopes of Langenlois, where we still work today. 50 years after its founding, in 1906, the winery was first honored by the Archduchy of Lower Austria. The name Hiedler became a guarantor of good wines and thus Ludwig started bottling his wines and was one of the first winemakers in Langenlois to do so.

Dr. Bruno and Hildegard Hiedler

Dr. Bruno Hiedler was a practicing doctor and continued the tradition very successfully in third generation. Together with his wife Hildegard, he modernized the winery and enlarged the vineyard area to around 8 hectares. At this time, Hiedler wines had already made their way beyond Austria's borders. Following the pioneers spirit of his father, he became the first vintner to plant the variety Weissburgunder (Pinot Blanc) in the Danube region in 1955. At a time when small, low-yielding grapes were anything but 'en vogue'. He laid the foundation for the great Burgundian varietals, with whom his son Ludwig made a name for himself early on.

Ludwig II. and María de los Ángeles Hiedler

In 1980 Ludwig Hiedler took over the estate in fourth generation and dedicated his life to winemaking. His efforts set the course for the future of the winery. Together with his Barcelona born wife María Ángeles, with farsighted investments in the cellar and vineyard and the introduction of the label with the owl, their wines attracted attention from around the globe. Under their leadership the estate became one of the highest rated wineries of the Kamptal, and thus a leading operation in Austria. In 1992, following their strict idea of origin, they founded the renowned association "Österreichsiche Traditionsweingüter" (Traditional Austrian Wineries), together with six other estates. This association is regarded as the great pioneer of the Austrian vineyard classification.

The fifth generation.

Following the long family tradition, a successor has also been found in the fifth generation, leading the legacy into a new chapter. Two brothers Ludwig Jr. and Dietmar have made good use of the new opportunities of their winemaking generation and explored the world. They have returned home with new perspectives, new ideas, valuable experiences and great enthusiasm. They have already begun to write their own story. Slowly the responsibility flows into the hands of the next generation. Their influence is already well noticeable.

Strong team.

None of our wines are made single-handedly. What the family members used to manage all by themselves is no longer possible due to our size today. We have gathered a strong team around us, many helping hands that all play their part; outside where we look after our vineyards and vines, and in the wine cellar where we take care of the maturing wines. Basically in all operational areas where we rely on mutual support. Making wine is teamwork!

Unsere Geschichte beginnt 1856.

Josef und Anna I. Hiedler

Lange Zeit betrieb unsere Familie eine Gerberei im Zentrum von Langenlois. Die Gründung des Weinguts beruhte auf einem glücklichen Zufall; vor über 160 Jahren. Als der damals junge Unternehmer und Ledergerber Josef Hiedler seine Gattin Anna heiratete, wanderten ein paar wenige Langenloiser Weingärten in den Familienbesitz. Josef entdeckte bald seine Leidenschaft zum Winzerhandwerk und gründete so 1856 das Gut mit seiner Frau. Gemeinsam bewirtschafteten sie ihre ersten Parzellen in den traditionsreichen Lagen Thal und Spiegel und begannen im kleinen Stil Wein zu keltern.

Ludwig I. und Anna II. Hiedler

In zweiter Generation erfuhr das Weingut umfassende Investitionen. Obwohl anfangs nach wie vor im Lederhandel und der Gerberei tätig, war Ludwig I., eines von fünf Kindern, mit Leib und Seele Winzer. Er dehnte den weinbaulichen Betrieb um weitere Parzellen hervorragender Kamptaler Lagen aus. Mit seiner Gattin, ebenfalls Anna, kaufte er den historischen Keller und Heurigen am Rosenhügel, in dem wir heute noch arbeiten. 50 Jahre nach Gründung, im Jahre 1906, wurde das Weingut unter ihrer Führung in einer Ehrung des Erzherzogtums Österreich unter der Enns erstmals urkundlich ausgezeichnet. Der Name Hiedler wurde bekannt und galt fortan als Garant guter Weine. So begann Ludwig als einer der ersten Langenloiser Winzer mit der Flaschenfüllung und belieferte Kundschaft in ganz Österreich.

Dr. Bruno und Hildegard Hiedler

Dr. Bruno Hiedler war Arzt und führte das Weingut in dritter Generation fort. Zusammen mit seiner Frau Hildegard begann er den Betrieb zu modernisieren und vergrößerte die Rebfläche auf rund 8 Hektar. Hiedler Weine wurden mittlerweile auch über Österreichs Grenzen hinaus genossen. Mit einer Pioniers-Entscheidung im Jahre 1955 wurde Bruno zum ersten Winzer, der den Weißburgunder im Donauraum auspflanzte. Zu einer Zeit, in der kleine Trauben und ertragsärmere Sorten alles andere als 'en vogue' waren. So legte er den Grundstein für die großen Burgunder, mit denen sich sein Sohn Ludwig schon früh einen Namen machte.

Ludwig II. und María de los Ángeles Hiedler

1980, in vierter Generation, entschloss sich Ludwig Hiedler nach dem Studium für die Winzerlaufbahn. Er und seine aus Barcelona stammende Gattin María Ángeles stellten mit konsequenten Entscheidungen die Weichen für die Zukunft des Traditionsbetriebes. Gemeinsam etablierten sie das Gut an der Österreichischen Spitze; mit Gespür für große Weine, weitsichtigen Investitionen in Keller und Weinberg und mit der Einführung der Eule am Etikett. So zog das Weingut weltweit Aufmerksamkeit auf sich. Der strikte Herkunftsgedanke ihrer Weinphilosophie führte 1992, mit sechs weiteren Betrieben, zur Gründung der renomierten Vereinigung "Österreichsiche Traditionsweingüter", die heute als großer Pionier der österreichischen Lagenklassifikation gilt.

Die fünfte Generation.

Der langen Familientradition folgend, hat sich auch in der fünften Generation eine Nachfolge gefunden. Die beiden Brüder Ludwig jun. und Dietmar haben die neuen Möglichkeiten ihrer Winzergeneration genutzt und sich auf Wanderjahre begeben. Heimgekehrt sind sie mit neuen Ideen, wertvollen Erfahrungen und Inspiration. Nun fließt die Verantwortung in die Hände der Brüder, die das Lebenswerk mit Vision weiterentwickeln und bereits ein neues Kapitel in der Geschichte des Traditionsbetriebes aufgeschlagen haben.

Starke Mannschaft.

Keiner unserer Weine entsteht im Alleingang. Hinter jeder Flasche steckt Teamarbeit. Wir haben eine starke Mannschaft um uns versammelt, viele helfende Hände, die alle ihren wichtigen Teil beitragen. Draußen, bei der Pflege unserer Weinberge und Rebstöcke. Im Weinkeller, wo wir uns mit handwerklicher Sorgfalt um die heranreifenden Weine kümmern. Im Grunde in allen betrieblichen Bereichen, in denen wir auf gegenseitige Unterstützung bauen.